Day three is Sunday here. I spent last night trying to figure out what to do on this first Sunday in Taipei. I decided on contacting a person from my alma mater to see when church begins for them. I haven’t met this person but was connected through a mutual friend that we have. After service at Taipei International she had asked what kind of time I had to spend with her that day. Technically I had a tour planned with some colleagues but I opt to skip out on that to spend the day getting acquainted with a new person.

We went out for lunch, up to Yangmingshan Park; which is a range of mountains in northern Taiwan and has a hot spring nearby. You can imagine the smell of sulfur in this area, it is strong. We continue to the calla lily flower farm and grabbed dinner. I had a really great time getting to know a new sister. We talked about our upbringing and where we are in life. Discussions of what should we do next, life being unfair and should we still continue down the path that we are going.

This day has been my most relaxed day since being here. I needed a break from interacting with the mass of different people and the city. I was glad I was able to have a day like this day. I also am missing southeastern Asian food already and I haven’t even been here for a week yet. I think the food struggle is going to be real this time.

 

Day four consisted of the first day of training with Hess. It was nothing to major today getting some administrative work out of the way and got to meet more people. After training we couple of us went to go grab dinner. Now all of us are foreigners to this country no one speaks mandarin and we go out for food. Granted it was a restaurant next to the hotel and there where English with their menu.

We are seated and decide what we are eating, but we sit there for a while. I knew that some places have a list for you to mark what you want to order and this place was one of them; but no one knew. No one saw the waitress put an order book down with us until one guy said “oh yeah there’s this book thing here.” So we go to order our food but the checklist is all written in traditional Chinese. We all struggle to match what we saw on the menu with the paper. In the end it was successful we all got what we ordered. The only exception was that we got a drink and didn’t know who it belonged to, but it was still successful for no one not knowing how to speak Mandarin.

 day4

 

Leave a Reply

